Participation Update

Yesterday I asked those of you coming to read, to take some time and make a post.  Many of you did and I thank you.  We can only succeed if we all participate.

Today, we had over 470 views on this blog!  That’s pretty amazing for a one day total.  This tells me you’re telling your friends and they’re all coming to have a read.  Please encourage them to make a post.  Suggest a change.  Validate someone’s ideas.   I have consistently heard that many of you love the WGU model, you love your students, but you don’t love your job (or some aspect of your job).  Well, this is what we created to help make some change, so please take this golden opportunity.

I was going to blog about the “Student Loan Bubble” today, but was so distracted by reading everyone’s posts, that I didn’t get mine prepared 🙂  So stay tuned for that blog in the future.

 

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Richard on January 25, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    Heres a good topic:

    Should student mentors have degrees in the field that they are mentoring students through?

    i.e, Business student mentors have a business degree, IT student mentors have an IT degree, etc…

    Reply

    • Hmm. I swear I posted a reply to this, but I can’t seem to find it. So, I guess I’ll just start again…

      I believe in some areas there are mentors that may not have degrees in their “field”, but have 10 or 15+ years of experience in the field. For example, there are some mentors in the IT college that have degrees in something other than IT or computer science, but do have many, many years of IT experience and perhaps even numerous certifications. Are these mentors competent and capable in serving students? I think so. I think that’s probably also true of the Business college as well – many people with industry experience, but a degree in psychology or history. Do they make good mentors? I think so.

      However, I can’t imagine someone who doesn’t have a nursing degree, being an appropriate mentor for a nursing student. I think this might also apply for the teachers college too.

      This is a really interesting question Richard because recently someone was telling me that we should actually all have education degrees – since we’re in higher education, not business or IT, etc. What do you all think? Should we be credentialed in our respective disciplines or should we be able to hold degrees in something else? How much should industry/work experience counter? Also, what do you think about the new “requirement” that you need to have a terminal degree to be a Course Mentor?

      I’m looking forward to a good discussion on this topic! Thanks for bringing it up Richard!

      Reply

      • Posted by Milton on January 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm

        I agree with Richard, I don’t think you should be mentoring students unless you have a degree or extensive background in the field you are mentoring.

        Its the equivalent of someone with a degree in business in a regular college teaching someone a class in neurological medicine. Other colleges require you to have a degree in the field you are teaching if you are teaching students. Granted student mentors don’t teach but your credibility becomes a bit lacking if you are mentoring IT students and you can’t answer simple questions about something related to IT.

    • Richard
      I think at the least they should have an undergrad degree in the program they are mentoring a student through.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Dan on January 25, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Did this place get shut down? Haven’t seen a post today.

    Reply

    • LOL! No Dan – I was just taking some time to talk with some co-workers about what WGU really means to them. After some really interesting and thought provoking posts from all of you, I needed a moment to think about what I want and need from WGU. Please look for my new post on this very subject. It will be up in an hour or so.

      Thanks for checking on me! Since we mostly work from home, no one might ever notice if I fell and couldn’t get up! 😉

      Reply

  3. Posted by Justus on January 30, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    I’ve been a mentor for a long time and don’t have a degree in the field I mentor in. I do have life experience and am very good at my job. With my education, I have the ability to read and understand tasks. I think I actually help my students more because of my degree which is in a “helping people” field. Mentoring involves so much more than OTP. It involves being there and helping people through their tough moments. It involves listening, empathy and the ability to either make people feel good about slacking for a few weeks when warranted or getting them back and better than ever. A degree in the field that I mentor in would NEVER help that.

    Reply

    • Posted by Milton on January 31, 2012 at 2:58 am

      No but what about accreditation? If I am teaching physics in college I need to have a degree in physics or science, not English or philosophy.

      Check any other college you cannot instruct or be in a program unless you have a degree in that field.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Terry on January 30, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    I wonder why a Master’s degree is needed when we are working in a selling call center. We have scripts, we’re not allowed to talk about the assessments, course mentors do that, we chase down the students like we’re collectors, only recognition is if you get a high KPI and it has to be the right one – or the flavor of the month. What I hate most is the hypocrisy at the faculty meetings.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Barney Fife on April 10, 2012 at 5:42 am

    WGU is all about hypocrisy. They hired on mentors because they were desperate, and then when they found out they were popular enough to hire mentors IN THEIR FIELD OF STUDY, they took all of their employees and discarded them like flies in the ointment. THose who were so important at first got canned because they hadn’t had the GUTS or oversight to hire mentors in their line of sight. WGU will NOT support its employees, and I am determined to establish a sight that exposes their BS hiring habits. Chris Mallet is to blame.

    Reply

  6. Posted by jimgreene on May 27, 2012 at 1:23 am

    I am trying to learn a lot about WGU, but it is difficult because they provide no lists of faculty and their degrees, and the annual statement provides almost no financial data. In many ways, it seems to be a highly successful university. But as it grows rapidly, it seems to scramble a bit to make the necessary adjustments. I am neither a student nor an employee, just a citizen fascinated by what WGU is doing and trying to come to some sort of assessment of its potential. Does anyone have any suggestions about where I might look? I have read articles about WGU at various sites. Any help would be appreciated.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Milton on July 5, 2012 at 4:22 am

    Jimgreene they don’t have their employee listings because some of their faculty are not qualified to mentor in the fields they are in….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

